The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt in all its glory

“That life – whatever else it is – is short. That fate is cruel but maybe not random. That Nature (meaning Death) always wins but that doesn’t mean we have to bow and grovel to it. That maybe even if we’re not always so glad to be here, it’s our task to immerse ourselves anyway: wade straight through it, right through the cesspool, while keeping eyes and hearts open. And in the midst of our dying, as we rise from the organic and sink back ignominiously into the organic, it is a glory and a privilege to love what Death doesn’t touch.” 

meryl streep yes! meryl streep applause

After a reading this masterpiece of literature last year, I had to revisit Donna Tartt’s writing just once more because it’s like having my favorite dessert over and over again. If someone were to ask me to describe the Goldfinch I would simply say “It’s a literary perfection told in the most imperfect way!”  She manages to make feel so much that, my brain becomes so numb, one can literally open any page of this book and get so much out of  a paragraph and I am thankful I have two copies (YES! It was so good I had to purchase a hardcover and a paperback) for me to re-read and re-read over and over again.

“Sometimes we want what we want even if we know it’s going to kill us.”

18381300
Go away I’m reading, but stay and read my blog 🙂

The plot of the story follows the character of Theo Decker who after a traumatic experience at a New York Museum *terrorist attack* he loses his mother and leaves the museum with a popular and his mother’s favorite painting, which shapes and overall throws him into such a ride of Art theft, Russians Mobs, Depression, Drug Abuse and so much more. Also along the way we meet such colorful characters, who shape and affect Theo’s life in a positive and negative way. I would say that the characterization is my favorite thing about the book, we see such anguish and misery through the characters eyes and it essentially give the book a somber and eerie mood.

“But sometimes, unexpectedly, grief pounded over me in waves that left me gasping; and when the waves washed back, I found myself looking out over a brackish wreck which was illumined in a light so lucid, so heartsick and empty, that I could hardly remember that the world had ever been anything but dead.”

movies reactions sad woman walking

I really can’t tell you or describe to you how the writing style feel, It’s simply on a whole other level, One must read to understand what I am trying to convey. Its so good that it makes the over 770 pages seem so little.

Donna manages to make you feel so much, touches on topics that are relevant in many years to come, Terrorism especially in these day and age has vastly affected people directly and indirectly and she managed to somehow show how victims suffer from P.T.S.D. (Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder). Mental Illness, Drug Abuse, Domestic Abuse, Unhealthy Relationships, Art-Theft, Suicide etc… It is one heavy book (pun intended) that showcased her research and dedication and although some people or “Critics” bash and disregard this book, I think it’s a literary masterpiece (I mean I have read it twice in a year)

SIDE NOTE: Get to know the author… check out her Interview 🙂

 

Follow me on Goodreads

THANKS FOR READING 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt in all its glory

Leave a Reply

