FAVOURITE BOOKS OF ALL TIME SO FAR

It gets to a point in life, where you stare at your bookshelf and you kind of see it take the shape of your true personality. Books that define you, changed you, made you laugh and embody who you are as a person. And as I look at my books, there are those that stand out and have left a dent in my life that makes me who I amโ€ฆ without further explanation ( These are in no particular order ๐Ÿ™‚ )


The Shining (The Shining #1)

โ€œSometimes human places, create inhuman monsters.โ€
โ€• Stephen King, The Shining

Truly in this list Stephen King has been a major influence in fucking me up with his books and The Shining did just that, absolutely terrifying classic horror of a haunted hotel and family dynamics, served in the most horrific way.

ย Click here forย The Shining Review

 

Labyrinth (Languedoc #1)

ย “We carry the past within us, in our bones, in our blood”

Historical fiction with parallel different time line that showcase two women uncover a secret that makes their fate intertwine, truly spectacular book. Highly recommend it.

Review ofย Goodreads Labyrinth

The Goldfinch

ย โ€œThat life – whatever else it is – is short. That fate is cruel but maybe not random. That Nature (meaning Death) always wins but that doesnโ€™t mean we have to bow and grovel to it. That maybe even if weโ€™re not always so glad to be here, itโ€™s our task to immerse ourselves anyway: wade straight through it, right through the cesspool, while keeping eyes and hearts open. And in the midst of our dying, as we rise from the organic and sink back ignominiously into the organic, it is a glory and a privilege to love what Death doesnโ€™t touch.โ€

What more can I say this is one if not the best book I have ever read, tragically beautiful, rich writing style, deep characterization and literary perfection. I highly recommend it. *I have read it Twice and its over 700 pages*

The Goldfinch Review on Goodreads

Blog Review

 

 

Interview with the Vampire (The Vampire Chronicles #1)

ย byย Anne Rice

โ€œEvil is always possible. And goodness is eternally difficult.โ€
โ€• Anne Rice, Interview with the Vampire

I donโ€™t read a lot of paranormal but this one is one of the good ones I have readโ€ฆ Classic vampire Gothic story that touches on heavy themes about morality and the effects of immortality, also features bad ass coffin sleeping vampires who donโ€™t glow in the sunlight.

The Interview with a vampire Review

Gerald’s Game

“Women alone in the dark are like open doors… and if they cry out for help, who knows what dread things may answer”

Where do I even start with this Stephen King underrated psychological thriller, that makes anyone feel terrified and touches on your worst fear *as king usually does* It was so freaking scary, that in broad daylight I had to stop reading because I was like

no nope inappropriate swipe left

Gerald’s Game Reviewย on Goodreads

 

And the Mountains Echoed

โ€œThey say, Find a purpose in your life and live it. But, sometimes, it is only after you have lived that you recognize your life had a purpose, and likely one you never had in mind.โ€

A recent favorite, this was the book that broke me so many emotions in 400 pagesโ€ฆ I was so in love with the writing style, I went and got two more of Housseiniโ€™s books. Rich middle eastern setting, war, strong sibling relationship, family dynamics, multiple perspective and so much highly recommend it.

And The Mountains Echoed Review on Goodreads

Blog Review

ย 

The Stand

โ€œShow me a man or a woman alone and I’ll show you a saint. Give me two and they’ll fall in love. Give me three and they’ll invent the charming thing we call ‘society’. Give me four and they’ll build a pyramid. Give me five and they’ll make one an outcast. Give me six and they’ll reinvent prejudice. Give me seven and in seven years they’ll reinvent warfare. Man may have been made in the image of God, but human society was made in the image of His opposite number, and is always trying to get back home.โ€
โ€• Stephen King, The Stand

YES! Another Stephen King book, probably my favorite one, it is such an epic story and how he crafted it just blew my mind-away. If you haven’t figured it out by now… I fucking love Stephen King!

The Stand Review

 

 

The Fellowship of the Ring (The Lord of the Rings #1)

โ€œNot all those who wander are lost.โ€
โ€• J.R.R. Tolkien, The Fellowship of the Ring

YES!!! I am middle-earth fangirl….

 

ย 

 

Harry Potter ย (Harry Potter #1-7)

 

Need I Say More!!!

 

(Millennium Trilogy #1-3)

by Stieg Larsson, Reg Keeland (Translator)

ย 

โ€œFriendship- my definition- is built on two things. Respect and trust. Both elements have to be there. And it has to be mutual. You can have respect for someone, but if you don’t have trust, the friendship will crumble.โ€

These books set the high standards on crime and mystery book, one of the most interesting female protagonists I have ever come across in literature. A complex story that just takes on the corrupt and underworld crime scene in Sweden truly amazing (R.I.P Stieg Larsson)

 

The Help

โ€œYou is kind. You is smart. You is important.โ€
โ€• Kathryn Stockett, The Help

Another ย book that approaches historical fiction from a different and refreshing angle of African American house helps in the 1960s during one of the worst times in history. It is written beautifully with a southern twist, lots of memorable characters and humor. Also the movies adaptation is solid.

 

Misery

โ€œI am your number one fan.โ€

This the book that started my craze for King, he took the concept of being a fan-girl and added some flare. It was such a fun but truly disturbing book, that will always have a special place in my heart.

Wolf (Jack Caffery #7)

Yes itโ€™s the 7th book in a crime series, but dang! What an amazing book that can be read as standalone. This was just amazing

Everyone should read this I donโ€™t even have words to describe, how amazing it is

 

Gone Girl

ย โ€œThereโ€™s something disturbing about recalling a warm memory and feeling utterly cold.โ€

This was one that opened up my freaky side in booksโ€ฆ Unreliable narration at its finest, yes everyone and their mom have read this and it truly lives up to the hype. Loved every second of it …

broadcity  reaction broad city hillary clinton ilana glazer

 

 

 

 

 

I hope you get a better understanding of my reading taste from the list and I have so many books to read yet and I am genuinely excited

So many booksโ€ฆ.

And if you think I might like any other books similar to the ones on this list please tell me

 

Thanks For Reading ๐Ÿ™‚

Follow me on Goodreadsย 

2 thoughts on “FAVOURITE BOOKS OF ALL TIME SO FAR

Leave a Reply

