So You Want To Be A Wizard by Diane Duane (Short Review)

 GOODREADS SYNOPSIS

 

Average Star rating: 3.79 Stars

 

My Rating: 4.5 Stars 🙂

 

“Reading one book is like eating one potato chip.”  

This was honestly one of the best middle-grade fantasy books, I have ever read 🙂 It was whimsical, magical and so fun 🙂

rp help magic gif

It was like one of those comfortable books about an adventure that I wish I had discovered  at a young age. After posting this as my currently reading on my Goodreads, I got a tonne of people telling me how it was their favourite book growing up and I was hesitant about going in because I thought I had passed the time I would have enjoyed it. I was wrong! I felt like a child reading this, it brought such a warm and innocent feel to it that I was just like…

“Believe something and the Universe is on its way to being changed. Because you’ve changed, by believing. Once you’ve changed, other things start to follow. Isn’t that the way it works?” 

The structure of the story follows our young protagonist (Nita) who sort of gets bullied and things are just not fun at the moment but the only thing that gives her peace and tranquillity is her local Library (geeking out about that).One day she hides in there  to escape her bully and decides to venture into the children’s section, she sees a book  with the title “So You Want To Be A Wizard”. Automatically she thinks its a joke but it turns out to be one of the most thrilling adventures about the unseen world of magic 🙂

The book is honestly filled with cool characters who go through a lot and they develop into something great. The lessons they learn is very impactful even for an adult. Their appreciation for books is what hooked me, how they delicately handle books, how they described them was delightful.

photos book reading pleasure

“In Life’s name and for Life’s sake, I say that I will use the Art for nothing but the service of that Life. I will guard growth and ease pain. I will fight to preserve what grows and lives well in its own way; and I will change no object or creature unless its growth and life, or that of the system of which it is a part, are threatened. To these ends, in the practice of my Art, I will put aside fear for courage, and death for life, when it is right to do so—till Universe’s end. I will look always toward the Heart of Time, where all times are one, where all our sundered worlds lie whole, as they were meant to be.”

Overall, I cried, laughed, felt and enjoyed the book immensely… I can’t wait to continue with the series 🙂 Highly Recommend it 🙂

Thank you for reading

GOODREADS    TWITTER   INSTAGRAM    TUMBLR

7 thoughts on “So You Want To Be A Wizard by Diane Duane (Short Review)

Leave a Reply

