The Tommyknockers by Stephen King (Short-Review)

Image result for tommyknockers book

Synopsis

Average Rating: 3.43 ★★★

My Rating: 4 ★★★★

Genre: Sci-Fi, Horror, Suspense, Thriller

 

Late last night and the night before,

Tommyknockers, Tommyknockers, knocking at the door.

I want to go out, don’t know if I can,
‘Cause I’m so afraid of the Tommyknocker man.

 

 

Image result for checks under the bed gif
By The way, that jingle is really creepy if it was sung by a kid

Something is creeping up in Haven, the atmosphere has rapidly changed after Bobbi Anderson stumbles upon something in the woods… It will alter the normalcy of this small town in a very weird way.

Before anything this book was another successful buddy read, shout out to Liz, Ron & Paul  🙂 Cheers to another trip down the pages.
Image result for cheers gif
Firstly, this book gets a really bad rep for some apparent reason but in my opinion, it is unjustified. The average rating kind of lowered my expectation for this book and it was quite enjoyable. It was classic King and his take on the Sci-Fi genre, yes I am not an expert on the genre but I am the die-hard fan of King’s writing. The book had a slow burn creepy feeling as you flip through the pages… I was always anticipating something to pounce on the characters, it had a successful build up that paid in the end. The book proved to me such an awesome buddy-read choice because of the small cameo of different characters, quotes or little bit of hints from other King books
Image result for between the lines\ gif

“And I believe happiness is the exact opposite of sadness, bitterness, and hatred: happiness should remain unexamined as long as possible.”

I will have to admit that unlike my reading buddies my experience with the book was not so smooth, Some parts of the book seemed dragged out and could have been cut short. The introduction of many characters was overwhelming at times but it wasn’t that bad as the “critics” point out.

“So what he supposed to do? Grab Bobbie’s axe and make like Jack Nicholson in The Shinning? He could see it. Smash, crash, bash: Heeeeeeere’s GARDENER!”

The characters were complex and alive as with every King book, he wrote this book at a very dark time in his life and some characters mirrored his real life struggles, especially with alcoholism. It was also refreshing to see a main female character but what drove the book was the need to find out…
Image result for What the hell is going on gif

I would recommend this to those who enjoyed Stranger Things or have the craving for that 80s aesthetic with that creepy King original style this was solid.
P.S. This book kind of sparked the inspiration for one of his best book Under the Dome so go wild.

Thanks for reading 🙂
GOODREADS    TWITTER  INSTAGRAM   TUMBLR

4 thoughts on “The Tommyknockers by Stephen King (Short-Review)

  1. I did enjoy this book, although it is not as strong as some of his others. It was a bit long, and I did not really like the characters. But it was still fun and liked the Easter eggs. And this review is quite amusing 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve read four books from King (including “On Writing.”) He occasionally goes to places I don’t personally want to visit, but his process is genius. I liked The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon best of what I’ve read. I think whenever a suspense or horror novelist writes a sci-fi book, sic-fi community is extra judgmental. I’ve learned recently (last few years) that sci-fi are as demanding as they are loyal. It’s impressive, but if that science isn’t on point, they won’t suspend disbelief. This MAY explain the lower rating for this book.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

