Where to start with Stephen King

Image result for stephen king

Official Website: stephenking.com

Image result for stephen king quotes

It was only a matter of time before I did this post and I am sure as I continue finding more of King works I will post another one in the not so distant future. He has been one of the best authors I have ever read and I have acquired a sizeable amount of his work. Some people have been asking me… where to start, is he as scary as everyone claims to be, is it hard to get into his work etc. This sparked an idea for a blog post and I can share my experience on how I discovered King and which of his books are more accessible.

Image result for stephen king

Goodreads Group: Stephen King Fans

It was last year when I was shopping for books that I saw one title scream out from the rest, I took the book and naturally turned it and started reading the synopsis & I felt an urge to just sit there and read it but I obviously paid first and dashed home and started the story. During that week I was blown away by the concept of the story and it’s dark atmosphere, out of this world concept that just left me shocked at the execution of it. Immediately I finished I open Goodreads and investigated more of his books & that is how my soul was sold to Mr King.

Image result for i sold my soul gif

The book that opened the rabbit hole was…

Misery (Synopsis)

10614

It follows an author who gets into a car accident and is saved by his #1 Fan which in retrospect sounds like a pretty good thing but things aren’t what they seem to be. This will blow your mind in more ways than one and unlike his other books, this one is shorter. The tale is so gripping you will forget to eat shower or sleep and I usually recommend people to dip their toes in this one. You may also start with his first published novel but I haven’t read it yet (Ooops!!! I know I will fix that soon)

Image result for i really do gif

The next book that will be a good place to start is…

The Shining (Synopsis)

Image result for the shining book

This one deserves no introduction because it’s King Magnus Opus and it has all of his signature styles from beautiful writing, vivid creepy imagery, dark twisted character and just thrilling. Would highly recommend this 🙂

Image result for such a delight gif

Dolores Claiborne (Synopsis)

Image result for dolores claiborne book

This one that not a lot of people talk about I loved it…The narrative is told from the first person by Dolores who is accused of killing her husband and she tells the police how it went down. She is one of the best characters I have ever read, her voice is strong and it sets a dark tone throughout the whole book. With tonnes of surprises, it will leave you shocked. Plus it one of the shorter books with the hardcover being 200pgs. Plus it feels like watching an episode of True Crime.

P.S. The film adaptation stars Kathy Bates it’s one of the best 🙂

Image result for Go nuts gif

Geralds Game (Synopsis)

Image result for gerald's game

This is one is probably one that isn’t for the faint-hearted but to those that feel like they can challenge their mental state because king manages to put the main character and the reader into one horrifying experience that will open a can of worms & live you utterly terrified.

Image result for terrified expression gif

The story is pretty simple in plot but it offers upon layers and layers of horrific imagery and character study & warning on trigger topics such as abuse, rape, violent scenes. read the synopsis and see if you dare attempt it. FULL REVIEW HERE. It is criminally underrated!!

P.S. Companion to Dolores Claiborne 

P.S.S. The Netflix film adaptation is set to premier on 2017

Image result for recommendation

Pet Sematary (Synopsis)

(FULL REVIEW HERE)

Image result for pet cemetery

This one was really scary but it starts out really slow but towards the end, you will not regret the ending… I was literally scared to the point I had to wake my sister up & tell her how scary this book is. The story follows a family that moves into a new house in Mane & soon discover that they reside next to a Cemetary of dead pets so yes this one is short and scary… You will not look at your pets the same way :0

I  sincerely hope this post might direct you towards the twisted tales and amazing writing of Mr King himself, plus if you do step into his world might I recommend you tackle at least one of his big books because that is where he shines.

Review for:

I am not in any way claiming to be an expert on King but from what I have read of his I have been impressed and I know a lot of people out there would love to join the club and these are just a few of the openings. Please if you are a big fan, read a majority of his works or would like to recommend any of is books please share down in the comments about all of them to kind of help each other out… I too would love to know what books I should get to soon.

Image result for hold hands gif

Support one another

Thank you for reading guy and I hope I have been helpful 🙂
GOODREADS    TWITTER  INSTAGRAM   TUMBLR

“There are too many books in the world to read in a single lifetime; you have to draw the line somewhere.”

7 thoughts on “Where to start with Stephen King

  1. For someone who hasn’t read Stephen King before and is hesitant to commit to reading a novel-length work, I’d recommend “Night Shift.” It’s a collection of short stories from very early in his career. You can get a good idea of his style from them, and you’ll probably recognize several of the stories that have been made into movies.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

