The Book Community’s Rating System (Discussion)

Hey fellow reader and random internet stranger, hope your festive season is going on well & everything in between…

Image result for grinch gifs

“One can never have enough socks,” said Dumbledore. “Another Christmas has
come and gone and I didn’t get a single pair. People will insist on
giving me books.”


J.K. Rowling

Before I start this post I would like to take a moment to speak about what is happening in Aleppo Syria & if you have seen the horror that is currently going on you will understand but if you have no idea what has been happening to our fellow human beings in the Middle East…   (Eradicate The Ignorance)

What’s going on in Aleppo, Syria (Click Here)

Buses wait in Ramousseh, Aleppo, 15 Dec

Source of Images

 And I just want to say pray for them and keep them in your mind because it is truly a troubling time and it’s important we set aside our privilege lives this festive season and assist our brothers and sisters.

What you can do to help… (HERE)

Image result for aleppo syria how to help

Let’s talk about the title of the blog post … I have been very wary about attempting to write this subject because I lack the information to sort of back up the facts (I know what a way to start the post) but it has been ringing at the back of my mind.

Image result for thinking gifs

Image result for 5 start

The rating system that the reading community has sort of imposed on its self to keep track of their favourite books, to better communicate how they feel about the book and so much more depending on how you view it is very crucial to our reading especially for those who have a Goodreads account. I for one was very obsessed with the system when I first discovered Goodreads and I would look up a book before buying it or before starting to read it, I also rated a book when I was halfway or just beginning it and that started to bother me when I discovered how much power it holds against me.

Related image

It took away my enjoyment of books at one point as I just read to finish so I can jump into the star system and not that that is bad but I realised my experience with the book became damaged. The thoughts on this Topic were propelled by  Black Mirror Season 3 episode;1 (BTW do yourself a favour and go watch it after this post, it a revolutionary Scifi  show)

Image result for black mirror

TRAILER HERE

The premise of the episode is that in this dystopian world quite similar to ours where people rate others on a constant basis between 1-5 stars. And the 4 and above star elites get better treatment and basically the best lives but below that are treated differently with a lot of stigma… It is colourful but with a dark topic that will make you question social media in general.

FULL Synopsis

Image result for its fucked up gif

P.S. If you have seen the episode tell me so we can basically bask in the horror!

That’s the overview of the story and like every Black Mirror Episode every system has a flaw and spirals out of control

It pushed me to compare the book community’s take on how we depend on or use the system because it does bare some similarities, one will not acquire a book that has an average 2-star rating even if the premise does seem appealing. I also understand the importance of this because I wouldn’t want to waste time on a book that has a lot of negative reviews because…

Image result for so many books gif

In my head, it’s a paradox that has been eating me up because as much as some might find a flaw in the rating system and disagree with it, it does have some pretty good positive points. I honestly don’t know if this post makes any sense to you but I would love to hear your opinion about the star rating system.

  • How does it affect you?
  • Do you constantly think about rating books as opposed to experience them?
  • Do you look up the average star rating before buying a book? Or just your general opinion on the matter…
  • I also know some readers who have no idea what Goodreads is and don’t discuss books with a rating system but just as books and that just widens the topics…

Image result for discussion gif

I also stumbled upon a Booktuber Lorna from SuddenlyLorna (Channel Here) who tackled this topic and she raises or explains this topic better and I would highly recommend you check the video out —–> Goodreads Rating Yay or Nay (Click Here)

Thank you for reading the post and in no way I’m I posting any firm stand on the topic would just like to see a general opinion 🙂

Thanks for reading:0
GOODREADS    TWITTER  INSTAGRAM   TUMBLR

“There are too many books in the world to read in a single lifetime; you have to draw the line somewhere.”

5 thoughts on “The Book Community’s Rating System (Discussion)

  1. I typically don’t rely on ratings too much to decide what I read, and for that reason, ratings don’t bother me. Though I can see how they can become a problem, especially when lots of people start relying on them heavily. You can’t reduce a book to a star rating. I enjoyed reading this post – great topic!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Such a great discussion! I always enjoyed the rating system, but I never thought about it the way that you explained. I agree that looking at a book’s rating before you purchase or read it can alter the way in which you perceive the novel, and in this case that is pretty negative for the book community. But I think the rating system is such commonly used just because it’s “simple” & in some cases it gets your point across without saying much.
    Great post! (:

    -Jess @jbelkbooks

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

