2016 End of Year Book Survey

2016-end-of-year-book-survey-1024x984-768x738

Happy New Year fellow readers and I hope it will be a prosperous one that will come with tonnes of new books, blogger friends and just all-around positivity. Yes, we all dwelled so much on the negative (at least some of us) that we didn’t take a few minutes to reflect on the amazing little trinkets life had to offer.

c01nqbdxuamyqlhc01nqa_xeaea44k

See that’s some good stuff now let me shut up for a minute and talk about the overall bookish experience of 2016.

Image result for lets talk books gif

I found this tag/post from Nicole (Post Here) And it was originally from Jamie (Post Here) I have checked out both of their posts and they are lovely some good ass recommendations.

Reading Statistic (Overview)

I read approximately 93 out of 40 books according to my Goodreads (here)

Re-Reads: 4 (Hopefully will style up and attempt more)

Most Read Genre: Thrillers

best-YA-books-2014

  1. Best Book You Read In 2016?

    Image result for cloud atlas book

Easy sauce Cloud Atlas  It completely altered my whole reading perspective (let me stop now before I begin to gush) Book Review Here

  1. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?

    Image result for handmaid's tale cover     Image result for hunger games book   Image result for The Shipping news book

The Handmaids Tale (book review here) (really expected more) The Shipping News (book review here)(With all those awards it really bored me) & The Hunger Games( I didn’t expect to hate the series  this much)

  1. Most surprising (in a good way or bad way) book you read?

    Image result for cloud atlas book

In a good way was Cloud Atlas (book review here) really was so scared about it and I laugh at the thought of me being scared at such a beautiful and amazing piece of literature.

Image result for read it gif

Source

  1. Book You “Pushed” The Most People To Read (And They Did)?

    Image result for the first fifteen lives of harry august

The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August (Book Review Here) and It was worth the push.

  1. Best series you started in 2016? Best Sequel of 2016? Best Series Ender of 2016?

    Image result for jackson brodie case histories book

I don’t read a lot of series because where I live to find the sequel will take me forever so I usually stay away until I can find the complete set but I read all of The Jackson Brodie Series by Kate Atkinson and it was so delightful. Literary Crime Fiction at its finest.

  1. Favourite new author, you discovered in 2016?

    Image result for khaled hosseini

Khaled Hosseini (Author of And The Mountains Echoed) (Book Review Here), easy he shaped me he impacted me and his ability to present a heart-wrenching story awes me!!

Image result for awe gif

  1. Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone?

Again Cloud Atlas!!!! Really if you are reading this post just leave and go get  yourself

Image result for now gif

  1. Most action-packed/thrilling/unputdownable book of the year?

    Image result for shutter island book

Shutter Island (Book Review Here) was pretty much one of the best thrillers I read last year my soul quivers just thinking about that ending.

  1. Book You Read In 2016 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year?

    Image result for Middlesex book

Middlesex (Book Review Here) (also whispers Cloud Atlas) I loved the way this book rid me my ignorance toward the vast topic of Gender and Sexuality plus the main characters voice is so strong I can still hear it.

  • Favourite cover of a book you read in 2016?

    Image result for spooner pete dexter    Image result for katherine howe salem witch trials   Image result for first fifteen lives of harry august

 stunning stunning stunning!

  • Most memorable character of 2016?

    Image result for danny torrance illustrations    Image result for abra doctor sleep

Danny Torrence and Abra from Doctor Sleep (Book Review Here) were the perfect teams plus this list wouldn’t be a list without Stephen King. Also Ignatius Perrish from Horns

  • Most beautifully written book read in 2016?

Image result for thirteenth tale

The Thirteenth Tale by Daine Setterfield (Book Review Here), if you do plan to read this book prepare yourself for beautiful descriptions, tasteful prose and lush language

  • Most Thought-Provoking/ Life-Changing Book of 2016?

CLOUD ATLAS, And The Mountains Echoed, Middlesex, First Fifteen Lives of Harry August

  • Book you can’t believe you waited for UNTIL 2016 to finally read?

    Image result for shadow of the wind

Shadow of the wind (Book Review Here) and I am glad I have this treasure to reread until the pages fall off.

  • Favourite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2016?

My life amounts to no more than one drop in a limitless ocean. Yet what is any ocean, but a multitude of drops?”

“Books are mirrors: you only see in them what you already have inside you.”

  • Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2016?

Image result for under the dome book      Image result for annie's day by andy weir
Under The Dome by Stephen King ( Book Review Here) and Annie’s Day by Andy Weir

book-blogging

  1. New favourite book blog you discovered in 2016?

All those who Interact and say hi whenever they see my post you know yourself… yes, you reading this… Sexy Reader 😉

Image result for wink gif tumblr

  1. Favourite review that you wrote in 2016?

    Image result for boy's life robert mccammon

Boy’s Life (Book Review Here) was just amazing if I do say so myself… It was so amazing that the Author Robert McCammon  acknowledge it. Trust me I am still in utter shock.

Image result for oh my god gif

  1. Best discussion/non-review post you had on your blog?

    1

The Book Community’s Rating System (HERE)

I think I had some good questions on the topic even though I didn’t research it well I got some perspective but feel free to tell me your thoughts on the topic.

  1. Best moment of bookish/blogging life in 2016?

    Image result for you rock gif

Honestly, I have so many… Since this was the first year of me dipping my toes into the blogosphere, I was kind of intimidated and scared and thought I would be that weird kid at the corner but people interacted on my post, tagged me and followed my blog and I was like…

Image result for I am not alone gif

All of the steps by step process has been wonderful and I can’t wait to see how the horizon expands.

  1. Most challenging thing about blogging or your reading life this year?

So, during The December holidays, I got so caught up in trying to understand ‘Blogging’ to sort of getting some facts about it and I read some articles that just overwhelmed me with info about… How to? When to? What to etc. It made it seem like work but I am slowly trying to put myself in a positive mind frame and just do me…

Image result for thug life gif

  1. Most Popular Post This Year On Your Blog (whether it be by comments or views)?

My very exciting To-Be-Read Books It was a fun time 🙂

  1. Best bookish discover (book related sites, book stores, etc.)?

Image result for i don't know gif

  1. Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of this year?

    Yes The Goodreads Reading Challenge 🙂

looking-ahead-books-2015

  1. One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2016 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2017?

Actually, I have literally completed all of the books I wanted to read… My TBR has 12 books!!! (Yes, Gasp at that) I am even scared that I will run out of things to read but I will be visiting my local bookshop to see if I will stumble upon that book. (Update Book Haul Coming Soon)

  1. Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2017 (non-debut)?

    Image result for 11.22.63 book cover  Image result for life after life kate atkinson

I have none at the moment… But really want to find a copy of Kate Atkinson’s Life after Life, 11/22/63 by King those are like my must read soon books.

  1. 2017 Debut You Are Most Anticipating?

None sorry…

  1. One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging Life In 2017?

Just be myself in both the books I read and the post I blog. Try not to care what others are doing and follow my own mind.

  1. A 2017 Release You’ve Already Read & Recommend To Everyone:

None but if you have any horror, thriller, fantasy books tell me.

That’s the general overlook of my 2016 and I hope that 2017 will bring more positive moments in my reading and my life I hope it’s going okay for you… Check Out my previous Post

My Top 9 Best Books of 2016 #books #favourite

&

2016 Honourable Mentions (Favourite Books-Edition) #RunnersUp

Image result for pages flipping gif

 Happy New Year, Thank You For Reading and continue flipping those pages.

cropped-logo-iphone-01.png

GOODREADS

twitter-square-logo

TWITTER

insta

INSTAGRAM 

4 thoughts on “2016 End of Year Book Survey

Leave a Reply

