A Classy Book Haul (January 2017)

Hey, guys lovely to see you again or you read me (you know what I mean). Hope you are well and the new year isn’t as bad as you expected because today we are going to celebrate new used books… Yes, I bought my first bunch of new used books and let me just say they are delicious. I have been picking up books that I will get to sooner rather than later or immediate reads, this year I don’t want to see a book gather up dust on my shelf.

Image result for no no gif

I want to be excited for them and pick me up in the next few months, so without further ado lets bring out the first book haul of 2017!!

Image result for excited gif

(I have linked the synopsis below the pictures )

 

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

Synopsis

Genre: Fantasy, Historical Romance

The circus arrives without warning. No announcements precede it, no paper notices plastered on lampposts and billboards. It is simply there when yesterday it was not.

To be honest I wasn’t really planning on buying this book but everyone and their mother just praise it so much. They talk of its unique premise of magic, circus and beautiful writing. I just bit the bullet and got it, plus the price was good and I will be getting to this one rather soon.

 

The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie

kenyan-library-the-absolutely-true-story-of-a-part-time-indian

Synopsis

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Realistic Fiction

Heartbreaking, funny, and beautifully written, The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian, which is based on the author’s own experiences, coupled with poignant drawings by Ellen Forney that reflect the character’s art, chronicles the contemporary adolescence of one Native American boy as he attempts to break away from the life he was destined to live.

The book follows a teenage Indian Boy who attends an all-white school and being the only Indian there we follow his experiences through art and self-discovery. A bonus is that this is an own voices YA book and that just makes it so refreshing as I am trying to read more quality YA this year. Plus I really love the illustrations inside and the colours of the cover.

 

The Road by Cormac McCarthy

Synopsis

Genre: Sci-Fi, Dystopian, Classics

A searing, postapocalyptic novel destined to become Cormac McCarthy’s masterpiece.

This 2007 Pulitzer-Winning Post Apocalyptic Novel follows a father and a son who are travelling through a barren wasteland toward the promise land or a safer place at the coast. I have heard about this book on many accounts and the way people describe it just made feel drew to it and I can’t wait to discover what treasures it holds.

 

Black Swan Green by David Mitchell

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

Synopsis

Genre: Young Adult, Coming Of Age, Contemporary 

From award-winning writer David Mitchell comes a sinewy, meditative novel of boyhood on the cusp of adulthood and the old on the cusp of the new.

Yes, Another Mitchell and I gasped at the beauty that is this cover. If you haven’t known Cloud Atlas is my favourite book of all time ( Cloud Atlas Review) ( Favourite book of 2016) and I want to read all of Mitchell’s backlog. This one is a coming of age story so it’s way off from the genre-bending Cloud Atlas but Mitchell proved that he can conquer any genre and I have complete utter faith in him

 

 

The Blind Assasin by Margret Atwood

Image result for the blind assassin

Synopsis

Genre: Historical Fiction, Mystery

the art of storytelling to new heights in a dazzling new novel that unfolds layer by astonishing layer and concludes in a brilliant and wonderfully satisfying twist.

Initially, I had read the handmaid’s tale (Book review Here) last year even though it didn’t blow me away I still loved her prose and her ability to play around with language plus her feminist themes really resonated well with me. It’s a mystery set in the 1930 era and I am just sold by that, I really do hope I enjoy it because it did win The Man Booker in 2000 (Tell me if you read this one down in the comments)

 

A Spool of Blue Threads by Ann Tyler

a-spool-of-blue-thread-ann-tyler-kenyan-library

Synopsis

Genre: Literary Fiction 

Brimming with all the insight, humour, and generosity of spirit that are the hallmarks of Anne Tyler’s work, A Spool of Blue Thread tells a poignant yet unsentimental story in praise of family in all its emotional complexity. It is a novel to cherish.

I follow a lot of sophisticated book tubers and I have heard of the name Ann Tyler somewhere and from what I have heard everyone loves her. She mainly writes realistic fiction and family dynamics and I am here for that. I snagged this up without any hesitation & I didn’t even look up reviews I was just drawn to it so this is going high up on my tbr. (Plus the cover is to die for)

 

The Accidentals by Ali Smith

Synopsis

Genre: Contemporary

Fearlessly intelligent and written with an irresistible blend of lyricism and whimsy, The Accidental is a tour de force of literary improvisation that explores the nature of truth, the role of chance, and the transformative power of storytelling.

I recently read (Hayley (Blog Post Here) Review on Ali Smiths’s latest book Autumn and I was immediately drawn to her themes. When I stumbled upon this one I was definitely not leaving it behind. This sounds so cosy and will showcase really strong family connections and I simply can’t wait to start it

The Night Watch by Sarah Waters

Synopsis

Genre: Historical fiction, LGBTQ+,

Moving back through the 1940s, through air raids, blacked-out streets, illicit liaisons, sexual adventure, to end with its beginning in 1941, The Night Watch is the work of a truly brilliant and compelling storyteller.

I will finally be attempting my first Sarah Waters as I have been so keen to pick up her books and this seem like a good place to start. the Story follow a bunch of characters during world war 2 as they try to adapt to the effects of war and battles within themselves. Plus it features queer characters.

Regeneration by Pat Barker

Synopsis 

Genre: World War 2, Contemporary

Regeneration, one in Pat Barker’s series of novels confronting the psychological effects of World War I, focuses on treatment methods during the war and the story of a decorated English officer sent to a military hospital after publicly declaring he will no longer fight. Yet the novel is much more.

I almost squealed when I saw this… If you don’t know last year I read two of Pat’s books (Union Street Review & Blow Your House Down Review) and I was simply amazed at how she portrayed the women and tackled topics that were very heavy handed but important nonetheless. Now I have more material from her and I simply can’t deal… The overview plot is also about the effects of war and the psychology that goes with it. I hope I will love it as much her other books.

 

Image result for fingers crossed gif

 

And the book that I have been looking for and finally found it (Thank The Book Gods!!)

 

The Secret History by Donna Tartt

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

Synopsis

Genre: Mystery, Contemporary 

Under the influence of their charismatic classics professor, a group of clever, eccentric misfits at an elite New England college discover a way of thinking and living that is a world away from the humdrum existence of their contemporaries. But when they go beyond the boundaries of normal morality they slip gradually from obsession to corruption and betrayal, and at last – inexorably – into evil

I love The Goldfinch (Book Review Here) Tartt evoked so much emotion and I fell in love with her writing and now I can continue with her backlog. The book is even more popular than The Goldfinch and the mystery aspects set in an elite private school just got to me. This is a must read of 2017.

If you have read any of these books please feel free to tell me which ones I should get to sooner and Thank you so much for reading 🙂

GOODREADS

twitter-square-logo

TWITTER

insta

INSTAGRAM    

9 thoughts on “A Classy Book Haul (January 2017)

  1. Ok so many thoughts! lol first Happy New Year! second, I seriously gasped when I saw your 1st book hauled is The Night Circus (got a hold of myself)…I promise you, the hype is well deserved & I patiently await another book (anything really) from this author haha! The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian is on my short list to be hauled shortly. I’m really looking forward to this one. A Spool Of Blue Thread…I made the mistake of getting the audiobook for this one. the narration is AMAZING but there’s just too much to follow with this family/generations to listen to while I multi-task. Definitely plan on picking up the physical copy from Bookoutlet. The Secret History, I’ve never read anything from this author other than the synopsis for each of her books…The Secret History appeals to me most over all of them, you seriously lucked out finding that one HAHA! Nice one! love coming across used books but living in NYC, its not as easy as people may think.Happy reading 🙂

    P.S. I am with you on reading more quality YA this year 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much for the info in some of these books… I am so so excited to see how they play out… The Night Circus is definitely high on my tbr because of the way people describe the reading experience 🙂 The Absolutely True Diary has so many cool illustration plus the own voices part will make the book that much personal. You should definitely try at least one of Donna Tartt’s books in my opinion she is a master. Used Books and Quality YA are literally what i aim for in 2017 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      • I hope you enjoy all of your reads, they look amazing. I didn’t know The Absolutely True Diary has illustrations, thanks for the heads up now I’m more intrigued….Woot Woot for Own Voices! I’ll be reading a ton of those this year 💕I will def be reading a Tartt book & I think I’ll start with this one 😉 great goals for the New Year 👌🏼😃

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Ooh what a fabulous book haul! I’m so pleased that my review of Autumn led to you buying an Ali Smith book, and thank you for linking to my review, I appreciate that. There are a couple of books in your post that I’ve read and can recommend – The Night Watch by Sarah Waters is brilliant and The Secret History by Donna Tartt became an instant favourite when I read it a few years ago. I have the Anne Tyler on my TBR pile for this year and hope to get to it soon. I hope you enjoy reading all of your new books. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve been meaning to read Blind Assassin for so long now but I’m always really nervous to pick it up! I had an anxiety attack when I last tried to read it and now I associate it with that feeling haha. I’ll have to keep my eye out for your review if you write one on it 🙂

    Another of Atwood’s books that I did like was Alias Grace. It’s based in truth I believe, not exciting all the way through but still interesting. Also, The Edible Woman was a really good, shorter read. I’d recommend reading it during summer, it just has that summer feel to it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Sarah 😊 I am sorry about the anxiety attack affecting your reading I have been wanting to read Atwood especially The Blind Assassin but I started with her popular book The Handmaids Tale which was fine and the writing was okay but It didn’t blow me away so I am going to tack her other books. Thanks for the other recommendations I can’t wait to get to them.
      I will be sure to post a full review of the blind assassin 😊👌

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Some serious high quality books here. I am a big fan of Cormac McCarthy, I have read practically everything that he has written and love his work. The Road lives up to the hype.
    I also discovered David Mitchell last year and really enjoyed both the Bone Clocks and Slade House. He is a very talented author. Let me know what you think of Black Swan Green! I am hoping to read Cloud Atlas very soon
    Also tell me what you think of the Blind Assassin…I am a bit of a Man Booker nerd and would love to know what you think.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks 😊 I really did look for books that were worth it… Super glad to hear you loved The Road can’t wait to read my first McCarthy 🙌 After Cloud Atlas I really want to get through all of Mitchell’s work he tackled almost all of the genres well in Cloud atlas he is exquisite 👌 I will definitely post a review of The Blind Assassin once I read it and I certainly can’t wait to get to it 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

