Books I want to Re-Read in 2017

Hey fellow reader, hope you okay and well and in good spirits & if you aren’t then fear not for we are about to discuss books and that always cheers me up.

Image result for Hey gif

“There’s nothing wrong with reading a book you love over and over. When you do, the words get inside you, become a part of you, in a way that words in a book you’ve read only once can’t.”

In this post today we are going to tackle the books I will be revisiting this year (hopefully) because I want to familiarise myself with the book, so as to continue with the series or just get back to the world I once enjoyed. Last year I reread 5 books and the harry potter series and let me tell you it was so delightful.

Image result for delighted gif

The whole idea of revisiting just makes me feel happy and I plan to do that more often plus on rereading a book I’ll always get another perspective or different themes might arise that I may have initially missed. So let’s jump right into it.

Image result for jump right into it gif

“Read a lot. Expect something big, something exalting or deepening from a book. No book is worth reading that isn’t worth re-reading.”
Susan Sontag

The First book I would love to get back to is…

The Help by Kathrine Stockett

Image result for the help book

Synopsis

Genre: Historical Fiction, Adult Fiction

I remember when I first read this book I was blown away how the author incorporated the southern slang into the language, it was so effortlessly and so damn good. The characters worked so cohesively with the narrative and the themes were explored so well. I read it back in 2015 and I have watched the movie twice but I still feel like returning to it because it really did have some funny moments considering the topic and the time era the book is set in.

Eragon (The Inheritance Cycle #1) by Christopher Paolini 

Image result for eragon book

Synopsis

Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult

I will say this again “I DON’T READ A LOT OF FANTASY” and I would really love to correct that this year because I am a sucker for the chosen one trope and big chunky books with amazing world building. I read this in 2015 immediately after I read The fellowship of the ring and I was so obsessed with the relationship between the humans and dragon or rather the political intrigue that when I finished I wanted to continue on but alas I didn’t. I am planning to get the full series this year so I can marathon it but first I need to familiarise myself with the world.

The Perks Of Being A Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

Image result for the perks of being a wallflower book

Synopsis

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary

This probably one of the best YA story I have ever read, I typically don’t read a lot of young adult books but when I did read this one I was sold on it. The discussion around mental Illness and the portrayal of the teenage lifestyle were almost spot on. I saw myself in some of the characters and I felt like I was part of the group. The reading experience felt personal like I was hanging out with Charle and me so desperately want to revisit it again.

Labyrinth by Kate Mosse

Image result for labyrinth by kate mosse

Synopsis

Genre: Historical Fiction, Mystery, Fantasy, Thriller

Before this book I was mortified at Historical Fiction, something about the whole genre made me feel like ‘I just wouldn’t get it’ but I bit the bullet and gave this one ago and wow was I impressed with the story. It was fast paced and I got the whole idea behind the book and it was just a fun time. I would like to revisit and see if it’s as amazing as I think it is. Plus, I didn’t get to see the adaptation and I would love to.

The Stand by Stephen King

Image result for the stand by stephen king book

Synopsis

Genre: Horror, Post-Apocalyptic, Fantasy

I love love this book (or almost all of the king I have ever read) and I remember reading this in Christmas of 2015 I couldn’t put it down. The whole premise just blows my mind because I hadn’t read a lot of apocalyptic stories and I was just amazed at what King did with this one. Some people go even further to say that this is King at his best and I can most definitely see that and I will be getting back to this Big Book sometime this year.

“A good book is like really loved item at a really good restaurant, every time you go there you order it to see if it tastes like you remember, only to find out it is even BETTER than you remembered!”
K.A Cameron

I really do hope I find time for these because new books can be very distracting.

I would really love to know which favorites you are reading this year…

On my reading update, I am about to finish The Fireman by Joe Hill and It is getting so good. and I have officially converted my Instagram account into a bookstagram account.

(Instagram Here)

Yes, I am all about book aesthetic…

Image result for I'm i cool yet gif

“No book is really worth reading at the age of ten which is not equally – and often far more – worth reading at the age of fifty and beyond.”
C.S. Lewis

So until next time stay Bookish 😉
GOODREADS

twitter-square-logo

TWITTER

insta

INSTAGRAM   

20 thoughts on “Books I want to Re-Read in 2017

  1. Oh goodness! I LOVED The Help, really should re-read it as well since I have found nothing quite like it. I’m overdue for a re-read of the Harry Potter series, this most likely will happen now that I’ve started collecting the illustrated editions. Great to see you join the Bookstagram community, it can be addicting lol. I hope you get to all of your planned re-reads 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know right The Help was just something 👌 The whole book was perfect… You should definitely do a reread with The illustrated edition they look fantastic 😊 Yeah Bookstagram is a whole other crazy place but people are seriously experts at it, I am still getting used to it.😂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. The Help was perfect, I still remember how much I enjoyed it & I first read it around its release date so it’s been a while lol. I’m still getting used to Bookstagram myself, I used to post more frequently but have since slowed down. They changed their algorithm & now photos aren’t seen as taken. It’s more of a whichever gets the most hits the fastest gets the most exposure 🤔

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yeah… Bookstagram has become such a popularity contest… I genuinely want to talk about books and see good books just plain interaction but people are more interested in aesthetic than the books… But it’s all good and fun 😂😂😂 I feel like an old man trying to hang out with the cool kids 😂😂😂😂😂😂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Hmmm… There are definitely books worth re-reading; in fact, I have a house full of them! I don’t typically buy a book unless I’m already pretty sure I’m going to want to read it again someday. The problem is there are just SO many books out there that I haven’t read that I want to read, and they tend to monopolize my time. Re-read? Maybe someday. If I live long enough to retire and still have my eyesight.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. 😂😂😂 That is so true… I was feeling the same way last year my tbr was growing and I the thought of rereading seemed impossible but once I pulled up an old favourite and started it just felt good so I promised myself that I would try to reread just a few this year but your right so many books so little time 😅 I hope you do still have good eyesight when you do retire.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Great post! For the life of me, I can’t find a book by Stephen King to like. I don’t know why I never like his novels! I am going to attempt Under the Dome this year and the Bill Hodges trillogy. I am determined to try more before giving up on him.
    By the way, your logo is fantastic!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you 😊 The Logo was so random though but I actually like it… Yes, Just give him one more chance if you don’t like his next work just drop him 😂 but I love his writing and his story telling abilities so much hope you like his next book 👌

      Like

Leave a Reply

