Mini Book Haul & Currently reading

Hey, fellow reader 🙂

I have been going up and down trying to figure out what to write this Thursday and I realised that I have acquired 4 books, which I am excited to talk about.

The story behind the 4 books is that I desperately needed them in my life and for the life of me I couldn’t control myself

Image result for Give it to me gif

P.S if you have read these books tell me how you found them…

Image result for The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry

The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry

Synopsis

Genre: Realistic Fiction, Contemporary, Family

And then a mysterious package appears at the bookstore. It’s a small package, but large in weight. It’s that unexpected arrival that gives A. J. Fikry the opportunity to make his life over, the ability to see everything anew.

 I have seen this float around the bookish community and I still can’t grasp what the actual plot is about but I have this strong feeling that the story will be heartwarming.  I really do love the cover.

Image result for The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton

The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton

Synopsis

Genre: Historical Fiction, Mystery, Fiction

Enchanting, beautiful, and exquisitely suspenseful, The Miniaturist is a magnificent story of love and obsession, betrayal and retribution, appearance and truth.

This is one of those books that I have been meaning to read but the odds of coming across it in a thrift store were not in my favour. The whole premise and the setting of the book actually makes me drool. I have heard some very positive feedback about the book and excited to see how the story will resonate with me. Also swoon-worthy cover:0

Image result for Koko By Peter Straub

Koko By Peter Straub

Synopsis

Genre: Thriller, Mystery, Suspense, Horror

KOKO. Only four men knew what it meant. Now they must stop it. They are Vietnam vets a doctor, a lawyer, a working stiff, and a writer. Very different from each other, they are nonetheless linked by a shared history and a single shattering secret.

I am actually reading this with my book club on Goodreads and I still can’t place a solid opinion on it but the author is setting up the story in an interesting way. The perspectives are all former veterans and the topic of PTSD is very much an over-arching theme, so I can’t wait to see how the story develops. A shout out my good friend Paul for sending this book my way 🙂

Image result for Fight Club by Chuck Palahniuk

Fight Club by Chuck Palahniuk

Synopsis

Genre: Contemporary, Thriller

Every weekend, in basements and parking lots across the country, young men with good white-collar jobs and absent fathers take off their shoes and shirts and fight each other barehanded for as long as they have to. Then they go back to those jobs with blackened eyes and loosened teeth and the sense that they can handle anything.

This was another great find even though the edition I have is so horrendous, I actually read till page 90 but had to put it down my interest shifted to other things but it did have some dark moments and philosophical quotes. I will have picked it up soon when the need to read it arises.

February is here and I am excited to finally get started on some new books, I really don’t like TBR so I will just go to myself and pick at randomly what I am in the mood for. So, as I stated earlier I am currently reading Koko and I also started Anne Tyler’s A Spool of Blue Thread and so far, it is my current obsession. I don’t want to put it down, a family exploration of relationship dynamics and so much character depth, let me not get started on the writing. I legitimately can’t wait to see how the story develops.

I read a total of 4 books in January and I believe I have reviewed for all of them. I enjoyed all of them for various reasons 🙂

Thank you so much for visiting my blog and I have been seeing the news my prayers and thoughts are with my Muslim Brothers & Sisters during this hard time.

 “There may be times when we are powerless to prevent injustice, but there must never be a time when we fail to protest.”
Elie Wiesel

cropped-logo-iphone-01.png

So until next time stay Bookish 😉

GOODREADS

goodreads

TWITTER 

twitter-square-logo

INSTAGRAM 

insta

  

5 thoughts on “Mini Book Haul & Currently reading

  1. Fight Club and The Miniaturist are two great reads. Fight Club definitely adds to the film experience while The Miniaturist lives up to its hype as a fantastic read. Seeing the real life dollhouse in the Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam was a very cool experience.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

