The Reading Habits Tag

“In my whole life, I have known no wise people (over a broad subject matter area) who didn’t read all the time — none, zero. You’d be amazed at how much Warren reads–and at how much I read. My children laugh at me. They think I’m a book with a couple of legs sticking out.”
Charles T. Munger, Poor Charlie’s Almanack: The Wit and Wisdom of Charles T. Munger

Image result for hello gif

Hey, guys hope you are well, happy and that your reading is carrying on spectacularly. Last week I was gearing up to compose 2 book reviews but those books were excruciatingly painful, to say the least, ended up D.N.Fing them, will do a post on that experience soon. I feared that a reading slump was looming on the horizon but recently I came across a very magical book that helped me get out of the bad books phase.

Image result for thank heavens gif

“Before this generation loses the wisdom, one advice – read books.”
Amit Kalantri, Wealth of Words

I was inspired to this tag when I saw one of my favourite book tuber Helene Jeppesen doing it (Tag Video Here), I hope it will give a glimpse of how my reading ritual looks like so without any further chatter lets jump right into the questions.

  • Do you have a certain place at home for reading?

I actually have two reading places, on the balcony when it’s breezy outside or in my bedroom. I can’t read in the living room because of all the noise and distractions.

Image result for reading gif

“Any room in our house at any time in the day was there to read in or to be read to.”
Eudora Welty

 

  • Bookmark or random piece of paper?

Definitely a bookmark, I just find myself reaching for a bookmark when am about to close the book, plus I like to match the book and the bookmark.

Image result for bookmark in a book

Source

“A reader lives a thousand lives before he dies, said Jojen. The man who never reads lives only one.”
George R.R. Martin, A Dance with Dragons

 

  • Can you just stop reading or do you have to stop after a chapter/a certain number of pages?

I would power on if the book is interesting till I finish a chapter then put the book down but if I am exhausted or just not feeling the book at the moment I will stop at any page.

Image result for reading gif

“Never trust anyone who has not brought a book with them.”
Lemony Snicket, Horseradish: Bitter Truths You Can’t Avoid

  • Do you eat or drink while reading?

Yes, only Tea or Coffee but I can’t eat while I read, I fear I might ruin the book with oil stains, crumbs and all that bad stuff. If I feel hungry I will put down the book go eat and then resume reading.

Image result for reading while drinking coffee

“If you don’t have time to read, you don’t have the time (or the tools) to write. Simple as that.”
Stephen King

  • Multitasking: Music or TV while reading?

I actually can read and listen to music at the same time especially if they sort of compliment each other. It adds to the atmosphere and elevates the reading experience but I can’t do TV and reading at the same time that is impossible kudos if you can actually do that you are a rare breed.

Image result for reading while drinking coffee

“You don’t have to burn books to destroy a culture. Just get people to stop reading them.”
Ray Bradbury

  • One book at a time or several at once?

Here is the thing if you had asked me this question two years ago I would have chosen one book but these days I find myself reading Three books one for my book club and the other two are just the ones I have been dying to read. Especially with so many books out there and my ever growing tbr, I need to be versatile.

Image result for reading multiple books at once

“Do not read, as children do, to amuse yourself, or like the ambitious, for the purpose of instruction. No, read in order to live.”
Gustave Flaubert

  • Reading at home or everywhere?

I love reading at home with no distraction but I also try to squeeze in reading whenever an opportunity comes along. I will read standing in line, I will read when I am stuck in traffic, I will read in the toilet if I had a chance. I will always make time for reading regardless of the setting.

Image result for reading everywhere

  • Reading out loud or silently in your head?

Both if I am being honest. I love to read in silent but I equally love reading out loud especially when I am alone at home, if the paragraph is funny I will read it out loud, If the dialogue is spot on I will read it out loud or if the sentence is constructed beautifully I always find myself rereading it out loud to myself… Tell me I am not the only one who does this

Image result for reading out loud gif

  • Do you read ahead or even skip pages?

If I do this it is an immediate sign that I hate the book.

2c9db-throwbookoutthewindow

  • Breaking the spine or keeping it like new?

It honestly depends on how the book is published, I love breaking the spine and sometimes the spine is just so dang stunning I try not to ruin it.

Image result for cracked book spine

  • Do you write in your books?

No, unless I have an old beat up edition of a book then I would but I can’t bring myself to actually write in them.

Image result for writing in books

  • Who do you tag

Jenaca of jenacidebybibliophile.wordpress.com

Lillian of lairofbooksblog.wordpress.com

Louise of louiselovesbooks.wordpress.com

Melanie of meltotheany.wordpress.com

Tabby of orangeowldiaries.com

no pressure you don’t have to do the tag 🙂 and anyone who wants to do the tag go ahead  🙂

Here are
The questions:
1) Do you have a certain place at home for reading?
2) Bookmark or random piece of paper?
3) Can you just stop reading or do you have to stop after a chapter/a certain amount of pages?
4) Do you eat or drink while reading?
5) Multitasking: Music or TV while reading?
6) One book at a time or several at once?
7) Reading at home or everywhere?
8) Reading out loud or silently in your head?
9) Do you read ahead or even skip pages?
10) Breaking the spine or keeping it like new?
11) Do you write in your books?
12) Who do you tag?

Tell me some of your weird Reading Habits and all that Jazz in the comment section 🙂

cropped-logo-iphone-01.png

So until next time stay Bookish 😉

GOODREADS

goodreads

TWITTER 

twitter-square-logo

INSTAGRAM 

insta

  

3 thoughts on “The Reading Habits Tag

Leave a Reply

