Birthday Book Haul Part 2


I know I posted a mini haul (Post Here) just the other day and I thought that would be the last haul but to my surprise, I treated myself again…

Image result for treat yo self gif

I stumble upon some really good used books that I couldn’t just leave the price was reasonable and some were on my excited to read list

So without further ramblings

________________________________________________________________

Image result for Deathless by Catherynne M. Valente

Deathless (Leningrad Diptych #1)

by Catherynne M. Valente

Synopsis

Genre: Fantasy, Historical Fiction, Russian Mythology

She is best known for her fairy land middle grade series and I have yet to come across a copy but this one was also on my list and it sounds so bad ass

 Koschei the Deathless is to Russian folklore what devils or wicked witches are to European culture: a menacing, evil figure; the villain of countless stories which have been passed on through story and text for generations. But Koschei has never before been seen through the eyes of Catherynne Valente, whose modernised and transformed take on the legend brings the action to modern times, spanning many of the great developments of Russian history in the twentieth century.

Russian Mythology, Historical Fiction, Fantasy with elves and magical quest this absolutely drool worthy plus I have heard M. Valente writes beautifully


Image result for The Unchangeable Spots of Leopards by Kristopher Jansma

The Unchangeable Spots of Leopards

by Kristopher Jansma

Synopsis

Genre: Short Stories, Literary Fiction, Contemporary, Book about Book

This was a book I never thought I would ever come across in a used bookstore but I immediately grabbed it. The first time I heard of the book I was very intrigued

From the jazz clubs of Manhattan to the villages of Sri Lanka, Kristopher Jansma’s irresistible narrator will be inspired and haunted by the success of his greatest friend and rival in writing, the eccentric and brilliantly talented Julian McGann, and endlessly enamored with Julian’s enchanting friend, Evelyn, the green-eyed girl who got away. After the trio has a disastrous falling out, desperate to tell the truth in his writing and to figure out who he really is, Jansma’s narrator finds himself caught in a never-ending web of lies.

And it’s a short story collection about writing and books so I can’t wait

___________________________________________________________

Image result for Back When We Were Grownups by Anne Tyler

Back When We Were Grownups

by Anne Tyler

Synopsis

Genre: Contemporary

I loved A Spool of Blue (Review Here) Thread like it was probably one of the best family dramas I have ever read. The realistic depiction of family life was so well done and I just grabbed this even without reading the blurb 😊 It’s freaking Anne Tyler

___________________________________________________________

Image result for The Likeness (Dublin Murder Squad #2) by Tana French

The Likeness (Dublin Murder Squad #2)

by Tana French

Synopsis

Genre: Mystery, Crime, Thriller

This was another surprised by this discovery everyone has read this and it’s kind of a big deal. It’s considered a literary crime fiction book she is similar to Kate Atkinson’s Jackson Brodie series and I am so excited for it. I know it’s the second book but it can be read as a standalone, right?

________________________________________________________________

Image result for That Old Ace in the Hole by Annie Proulx

That Old Ace in the Hole

by Annie Proulx

Synopsis

Genre: Western, American Lit

This will be my third Annie Proulx I have bought only read The Shipping News didn’t care much for the story but the writing was stunning hoping this one will be amazing. I also need to read Broke Back Mountain and other stories.

Folks in the Texas panhandle do not like hog farms. But Bob Dollar is determined to see his new job as hog site scout for Global Pork Rind through to the end. However, he is forced to face the idiosyncratic inhabitants of Woolybucket and to question his own notions of loyalty and home.

_______________________________________________________________

Image result for Adventures of a Cat-Whiskered Girl (Neddie & Friends #3) by Daniel Pinkwater

Adventures of a Cat-Whiskered Girl (Neddie & Friends #3)

by Daniel PinkwaterCalef Brown (Illustrations)

Synopsis

Genre: Young Adult, Magical realism, Adventure, Sci-Fi

This middle-grade book had illustrated cats and a girl with actual whiskers and crewmen on the cover… Yes I f*cking bought it

Big Audrey is a girl . . .
with cat’s whiskers . . .
and sort of cat’s eyes.
But, is there another cat-whiskered, sort of cat-eyed girl?

it sounds freaking mental

I won’t promise I won’t buy more books but I am pretty satisfied. Have you read any of these?

src=”https://kenyanlibrary.files.wordpress.com/2016/12/cropped-logo-iphone-01.png” alt=”cropped-logo-iphone-01.png” width=”206″ height=”166″ />

So until next time stay Bookish 😉

GOODREADS

goodreads

TWITTER 

twitter-square-logo

INSTAGRAM 

insta

  

17 thoughts on “Birthday Book Haul Part 2

  1. I see Treat Yo’ Self is in full effect! HAHA! LOVE IT! every weeks should be your birthday week! lol. Spool Of Blue Thread…funny thing, I actually have the audiobook which I listened to 3 chapters of it & the narrator was on point however, this is not one I can play as background story telling while I work. A book Like A Spool of Blue Thread for me, has to be read in physical format so I’ll give it another go 😉

    Tana French, I have book #1 & the last one t have been released in this series, from what I’ve read YES you can read as a stand-alone however, at the end of each one…the character(s) to the next installment are introduced which is prob why i haven’t started this one. Although I could be rebellious & read them in any sort of order…my OCD will not permit this smh lol. Enjoy your new books Bill 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I Wish i was born every week just so i can buy more 😄😄😄 A Spool of Blue Thread is just one of those books that has this charming feeling about it 😊
      I can’t wait to start the Tana French Series it’s been such a long time since i read crime fiction oh I totally understand about the OCD i might start with the first book if i can get it on ebook Thanks Lilly 🙌🙌🙌🙌🙌🙌🙌 I can’t wait to read all of them

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes! I got that feeling from Spool, which is why I kept it on my TBR to revisit in physical format. Tana French is one of those authors I’ve always wanted to get into so I can’t wait for that to happen. I’ll keep an eye out for your thoughts Bill 😆😆😆

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Very eclectic selection! Not sure I have heard of these but I’m looking forward to your thoughts on them 🙂 Considering treating myself soon with The Devil in the White City.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I haven’t read any of these books, but the covers are so cool! Also I didn’t see a contact page, so I’m posting this here if it’s okay.

    My name is Victoria Grace Howell. I blog at Wanderer’s Pen (storitorigrace.blogspot.com). I’m currently running a big series where I interview people from around the world to promote international diversity, break stereotypes, and make a crash course for writers. I’ve interviewed people from over 35 countries so far. I noticed you’re from Kenya, and I’d love to have you on the project. I have hardly any African representation, so I was so happy to stumble upon your blog. I’ll also promote your blog in the post. How it works is I send you a document with questions and then you send it back with your answers. You can check out one of the latest posts in the series so you’ll get an idea of what yours would look like: http://storitorigrace.blogspot.com/2017/02/so-your-character-is-from-finland.html Would you be interested in this?

    Thanks so much for your time!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey Victoria thank you for reaching out and sorry about the contact 🙂 I just saw your interviews and they are amazing and brilliant… It so awesome that you are using the platform to showcase bloggers from all over the world and I will most definitely love to be par of it 🙂

      Like

      1. Aw thank you! How may I contact you? Do you have an email address I could use? Alternatively, you could email me at howellvictoriagrace(a)gmail(dot)com and I’ll get back to you with the questions. ^ ^

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

