Bookish Buzzwords

buzz·word

  1. a word or phrase, often an item of jargon, that is fashionable at a particular time or in a particular context.

Hey, guys, it’s been awhile so glad to be doing a blog post after a week of silence, hope you are well. As you can see in today’s post I am going to discuss Bookish Buzzwords, it essentially one word that sums up a certain tone or theme about what the book is about. For example, if the blurb states the book is about Friendship or War to kind of pitch and grab the reader’s attention, I have a few of these Buzzwords that I would like to share with you today and if you have any books that are about or have some aspect of these buzzwords do tell me, I am always down for book recommendations😊

Mystery/Thrillers

mystery

“The possession of knowledge does not kill the sense of wonder and mystery. There is always more mystery.”
Anaïs Nin

Something really comforting and addictive about trying to put the puzzle together, gasping at the shocking revelation, I am always down for a good thriller mystery. If a book is pitched as a mystery I will probably read it.

Favourites

Wishlist

Related image

Popular Mystery Thriller Reads

_____________________________________________________________________________________

Historical

Historical fiction

“If you don’t know history, then you don’t know anything. You are a leaf that doesn’t know it is part of a tree. ”
Michael Crichton

As I was going through my Goodreads shelves I found that majority of my favourite books are set in the distant past be it the world war, colonialism, the regency era etc. I love the feeling of going back in time to familiarise myself with certain events and sort of comparing it to the present

Favourites

Wishlist 

Image result for history

Historical Fiction Recommendations

_______________________________________________________________________________________

Family Dynamics/Multigenerational Narratives

Family Drama

I love a good family drama and even better if it spans throughout the generation. Secrets, Scandals, Connections and all the good stuff count me in.

Favourites

Wishlist

Image result for family

Multigenerational Family Book Recommendation

________________________________________________________________________________________

Bookception

Bookception

“There is no greater agony than bearing an untold story inside you.”
Maya Angelou, I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings

A narrative within a narrative, I did a post about this Books about Books (Post here) I am obsessed with this style of story-telling it sort of blows my mind how meta the structure is formed and I always look for books that have this element 🙂

Favourites

Wishlist

Image result for book within a book

More Recommendations on Bookception Books

___________________________________________________________________________________

Psychological Horror/ Anything Stephen King says is scary

psychological horror

“We make up horrors to help us cope with the real ones.”
Stephen King

I love scaring myself shitless, and this category is solely dedicated to Mr King. There is something thrilling about painting a terrifying scene in your head.

Check Out Where To Start with Stephen King

Favourites

Wishlist

Image result for PSychological horrorMore Recommendation for Horror Books 

_________________________________________________________________________________

Coming of Age

collage

“Where should I go?” -Alice. “That depends on where you want to end up.” – The Cheshire Cat.”
Lewis Carroll, Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland & Through the Looking-Glass

To stay with a character throughout their lives from childhood to adulthood is one trope I will never get tired of reading. The process of losing one’s naivety and starting to shape the rest of their lives, witnessing major events in their lives and growing a strong connection with him is absolutely magical.

Favourites

Wishlist

Image result for coming of age

Source

More Recommendations for Coming of Age

____________________________________________________________________________________

Time Travel/ Parallel Universes

time travel

“If time travel is possible, where are the tourists from the future?”
Stephen Hawking, A Brief History of Time

I will devour anything that plays with the concept of time travel! It’s such a fascinating topic and by the end, my mind is usually blown.

Favourites

Wishlist 

Image result for time travel photos

More Recommendation for Time Travel Books

_________________________________________________________________________________________

Genre Bending/ Experimental

genrebending

Experimental Meta Fiction is one of my favourite styles, sometimes it gets too weird and fails to deliver but when executed well “Coughs” Cloud Atlas “Coughs” I 100% end up falling head over heels. I haven’t read much of this genre but I have so many stacked on my wishlist 🙂

Favourites

Wishlist

and so much more…

Image result for endless list gif

MORE GENRE-BENDING BOOKS 

____________________________________________________________________________________

Post Apocalyptic/Survival 

post apocalyptic

That end of the world feeling is one that I can neve get enough of a dangerous virus, radiation, zombies, the literally burning, I promise you I am not satan but I really enjoy a devastating setting.

Favourites

Wishlist

That is the basic idea of my current reading taste, I realised before composing this list I had a lot of buzzwords but these are my main ones. Hope you enjoy the post and I would really love to know some of your buzzwords or recommend me a book that has any of my favourite buzzwords 🙂

cropped-logo-iphone-01.png

So until next time stay Bookish 😉

GOODREADS

goodreads

TWITTER 

twitter-square-logo

INSTAGRAM 

insta

  

Leave a Reply

