Road Trip Books Recommendations RECOMMENDATION THURSDAY

Image result for road trip quotes

So basically my whole Blogging Schedule has been a bust for the last two months and I deeply apologize for being MIA it’s just that life chooses to unravel and tarnish all my motivation to write and my blog sort of became a ghost town…

Image result for ghost town tumbleweed gif
But fear, not things have started to calm down and my reading mood has magically appeared and feels so good * Currently Reading Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie* and with that, I feel more inspired to create post & to make sure I stick to a schedule I have decided to create this segment called Recommendation Thursday. I will be recommending books based on certain topics, themes, mood and all sort of fun stuff and I hope you will get something out of it hopefully, fingers crossed

*let jump into it shall we*

Image result for road trip gif tumblr
Today’s topic was inspired by the feeling of Summer and the idea of being lost inside a book while it’s hot outside and you are stuck in a car on the highway … Well, It technically not that hot in Nairobi but I digress. Here are 5 books to take with you on the road and will make that trip extra special.

“Sometimes the most scenic roads in life are the detours you didn’t mean to take.” 
― Angela N. BlountOnce Upon an Ever After

***********************************************************************************

Image result for the road by cormac mccarthy
 The Road by Cormac McCarthy * Pun Most Definitely Intended*

Synopsis

Book Review
Funnily enough, I started and finished this book on my last Road Trip and it was atmospheric and bleak with such striking language that I ignored my family throughout the whole trip, it was my first McCarthy and most definitely won’t be my last. The contrast of the book’s Post-Apocalyptic setting and the road trip was beautiful and scary… I highly recommend you carry it on your next trip

*********************************************************************************

Image result for The Borrower by Rebecca Makkai

The Borrower by Rebecca Makkai

Synopsis
Another recent favorite and this particular one literally takes place on a road trip
In this delightful, funny, and moving first novel, a librarian and a young boy obsessed with reading take to the road.
It was engaging ad filled with tons of literary references as this Librarian “kidnaps” a child from a very troubled home in hopes of teaching a sort of life lesson on self-discovery… It’s light quick and very humourous.

*************************************************************************************

Image result for The Stand by Stephen King

The Stand by Stephen King

Synopsis
Listen…Listen before commenting on the sheer size of this epic tale… This is one for those long trips and you can always continue when you come back because it’s so worth it. Many consider this as King at his best and I definitely agree. I devoured this book in 5 Days and I really want to reread soon especially with on a road because I basically damaged my posture from reading this.

Image result for reading on a the road

**********************************************************************************

Image result for The Martian by Andy Weir

The Martian by Andy Weir

Synopsis
I am sure everyone has heard of this popular Sci-Fi about an astronaut stuck on Mars and how funny it is and yes I can vouch for that it’s hilarious. It was smartly written and I could not stop laughing, the main character had such a presence that it made the book with all the heavy Sci-Fi terminologies bearable and this will keep you entertained throughout the trip, I can guarantee

**********************************************************************************

Image result for The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August by Claire North

The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August by Claire North

Synopsis

Book Review
Time Travel thriller with a really dope spin to it, when the main the character dies he is born again with the same memories as his previous life and it is literally unputdownable!
The way this book is crafted is so uniquely that it will stun you, I admit that time travel alternate universes are my crack and this is definitely one of those *how did the author do it books* I highly recommend it to literally everyone who is planning a road trip.

Image result for road trip gif tumblr

Thank you so much for taking your time to visit this side of the internet, hope you enjoy the books if you choose to pick them up and remember Don’t Read & Drive

Image result for road trip quotes
cropped-logo-iphone-01.png

So until next time stay Bookish 😉

GOODREADS

goodreads

TWITTER 

twitter-square-logo

INSTAGRAM 

insta

  

7 thoughts on “Road Trip Books Recommendations RECOMMENDATION THURSDAY

  1. I wondered why notifications dried up, but great to see you back again. I also had a slip in the first three months of the year so can empathise with that loss of mojo. Last I was here we discussed Kings The Dark Half if I’m not mistaken. A book I read as a consequence and thoroughly enjoyed, in a dark way! Also recentky read The Stand which inspired me to write a short story called The God Strain! Hope alls well now and look forward to more recommendations 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much, Gary, 🙂 It has been hard to balance my online presence and my real life but I am willing to make the effort… Yes, I do recall us discussing The Dark Half and it still remains as one of the most unique books ever glad you enjoyed it… I will be very interested to read your short story it sounds so interesting just from the title because I really loved The Stand

      Liked by 1 person

      • I can give you the link if you like; it ended up as two parts and grew from a blog battle challenge (bit of fun with the host) to use all 15 of the battle prompts used over that same number of weeks. You are so right about that balance too; often the real world invades and its about priorities at the end of the day. I’ve not done a huge amount of blogging recently for that very reason. Trouble I find is the longer the drought goes the harder it is to start again!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

