Crime Mystery Book Recommendation (Recommendation Thursday)

“And then I thought that I had to be like Sherlock Holmes and I had to detach my mind at will to a remarkable degree so that I did not notice how much it was hurting inside my head.” 
― Mark HaddonThe Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time

I did promise I’ll be back with a recommendation list of some of my favorite Crime Mystery books. As you may know by now, I’m a huge fan of investigative narratives, it can be a detective or any perspective solving a mystery, I just enjoy the thought process of uncovering a mystery.

Image result for detective gif

“The world is full of obvious things which nobody by any chance ever observes.” 
― Arthur Conan DoyleThe Hound of the Baskervilles

Today I have 5 books that have that element and add more in the realm of character exploration, engrossing writing and discusses societal issues

(All book reviews will be linked)

Related image

(Previous Recommendation Thursday Post)

.Wiki-background

Image result for mystic river book

Mystic River by Dennis Lehane

(Click here for Book Review)

448 pages

Genre: Mystery, Crime, Suspense

When they were children, Sean Devine, Jimmy Marcus, and Dave Boyle were friends. But then a strange car pulled up to their street. One boy got into the car, two did not, and something terrible happened — something that ended their friendship and changed all three boys forever. 

This was my second Lehane after The Power House “Shutter Island” and I was impressed with the characters especially since they are reflecting on something traumatic that took place in the past. It did have its shocking moments but it was also well written and thought-provoking

Wiki-background

Image result for Mr. Mercedes by Stephen King book

Mr. Mercedes (Bill Hodges Trilogy #1)

by Stephen King

(Click here for Book Review)

407 pages

Genre: Thriller, Crime Mystery

In the frigid pre-dawn hours, in a distressed Midwestern city, hundreds of desperate unemployed folks are lined up for a spot at a job fair. Without warning, a lone driver plows through the crowd in a stolen Mercedes, running over the innocent, backing up, and charging again. Eight people are killed; fifteen are wounded. The killer escapes.

Crime and King was an odd pairing but once I started this I was amazed. The typical horror style is hinted throughout the book but the investigation was even juicier. In the sense that we get both the perspective of the detective & the killer. Literally a page-turner. ( Adapted into a Tv Show)

Wiki-background

Related image

Jackson Brodie Series by Kate Atkinson

(Click here for more…)

 4 book series

Genre: Thriller, Crime Mystery

Case one: A little girl goes missing in the night. Case two: A beautiful young office worker falls victim to a maniac’s apparently random attack. Case three: A new mother finds herself trapped in a hell of her own making – with a very needy baby and a very demanding husband – until a fit of rage creates a grisly, bloody escape. Thirty years after the first incident, as private investigator Jackson Brodie begins investigating all three cases, startling connections and discoveries emerge . . .

This is by far the best written Crime Drama I’ve ever read. Kate Atkinson takes on the whole genre is more literary than action-packed. This is quite and the mysteries are interconnected with a very stream of consciousness style. The detective is more of a human than just a character. I ate all of the books last year and I hope to she releases a new one.

Wiki-background

Image result for millennium trilogy books

The Millennium Trilogy (Millennium #1-3)

by Stieg LarssonReg Keeland (Translator)

(Click here for more…)

 3 book series

Genre: Thriller, Crime Mystery

Harriet Vanger, a scion of one of Sweden’s wealthiest families disappeared without a trace more than forty years ago. All these years later, her aged uncle continues to try to discover what happened to her. He hires Mikael Blomkvist, a journalist recently sidelined by a libel conviction, to investigate. Blomkvist is aided by the pierced and tattooed computer prodigy Lisbeth Salander. Together they tap into a vein of unfathomable iniquity and astonishing corruption on their way to discovering the truth of Harriet Vanger’s fate.

This was my first introduction to the Scandinavian mystery and I feel gutted I have yet to read more in that genre because of the cold atmosphere and the gritty crimes that send a chill down my spine. This is an iconic trilogy from the late Larsson, I have yet to continue with the latest books from the new author but I can assure you the first three were a masterpiece and shaped my love for the genre

Wiki-background

Image result for Wolf by Mo Hayder

Wolf (Jack Caffery #7)

by Mo Hayder

(Click here for more…)

Genre: Thriller, Crime Mystery

When a vagrant—the Walking Man—finds a dog wandering alone with the words “HELP US” written on its collar, he’s sure it’s a desperate plea from someone in trouble and calls on Detective Inspector Jack Caffery to investigate. Caffery is reluctant to get involved—until the Walking Man promises new information regarding the childhood abduction of Caffery’s brother in exchange for the detective’s help tracking down the dog’s owners. Caffery has no idea who or what he is searching for, but one thing he is sure of: it’s a race against time.

I have only read this book in the series which I didn’t know was in a series but the whole structure of this book was mind-blowing. I kid you not this is still one of the best plot twists I’ve ever read. I have read one of her stand-alone books and it was equally amazing. She is incredibly underrated and amazing at crafting a crime scene.

As I’m well aware that I have yet to tackle some of the more iconic crime mystery books it’s still an amazing feeling to know that I have all these new books to look forward to. Recommend me some of your favorite crime mysteries or tell me if you have read any of the ones mentioned. Thank you so much for visiting

 So until next time stay Bookish 😉

      cropped-stack

GOODREADS

goodreads

TWITTER 

twitter-square-logo

INSTAGRAM 

insta

4 thoughts on “Crime Mystery Book Recommendation (Recommendation Thursday)

Leave a Reply

