My Pulitzer Prize for Fiction Recommendation & Reading Project

Pulitzer Prize

Image result for pulitzer

official website

The Pulitzer Prize is a U.S. award for achievements in newspaper and online journalism, literature and musical composition. It was established by Hungarian-American publisher Joseph Pulitzer and is administered by Columbia University in New York City. According to the administrators of the Pulitzer Prize, the correct pronunciation of the name should sound like the verb pull, as in “Pull it, sir”.XD

Prizes are awarded yearly in twenty-one categories. In twenty of these, each winner receives a certificate and a US$10,000 cash award. The winner in the public service category of the journalism competition is awarded a gold medal, which always goes to a newspaper, although an individual may be named in the citation.

History of The Pulitzer Prizes

Image result for pulitzer

Hello Friends 😊 I recently discovered that throughout my Literary journey, I have unconsciously been drawn to some books that have that golden Pulitzer Prize sticker  and going through my favorite list on Goodreads some of them are former winners and that sort of opened up a personal project to try to read some of them not all of them though, only ones that appeal to me😊 I know some readers strongly oppose Literary prizes calling them “pretensions” or “unjust” but my time with some of the books from this specific prize have had such an emotional impact and I tend to reflect on them at various stages of my real life.

I will recommend some of my favourites and a good place to start if you are at all interested in the prize.

(All book reviews will be linked)

Image result for pulitzer

Image result for The Goldfinch book

The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt

(Winner of 2014)

(Click here for book review…)

771 pages

Genre: Coming of  age, Literary Fiction, Contemporary

( I’m sure you are tired of me yapping about this title but it’s that good)

The plot of the story follows the character of Theo Decker who after a traumatic experience at a New York Museum *terrorist attack* he loses his mother and leaves the museum with a popular and his mother’s favorite painting, which shapes and overall throws him into such a ride of Art theft, Russians Mobs, Depression, Drug Abuse and so much more. 

This was my first ever big book and I still recall the emotional impact it had on me… Having never read any Tartt this welcomed me and ushered my obsession with her beautiful writing and amazing characters. I loved that I started with this one even though it’s intimidating the pay off was worthwhile. I mean I read it twice.

Image result for pulitzer

Image result for middlesex (novel)

Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides

(Winner of 2003)

(Click here for book review…)

529 pages

Genre: Historical Fiction, Family Saga, LGBTQ

The story follows Cal’s Grandparents as they are the last remaining Stephanides family in Greece and after the Turkish army invades their land and they are forced to flee to America and start fresh lives but something *not gonna say that because of spoilers* happens during their travels to what seems to be the promised land. We follow them as they get culture- shock, Fight to fit in and ultimately try to live and adapt to the new surroundings.

This book completely terrified me, The complex synopsis and the critical acclaim really put a damper when I was about to read it but when I finally closed the last page, my god, I wanted to start it all over again. The layers of plot, themes, discussion on gender just to name a few were Extraordinary and I very much look forward to rereading it. I define this book as “an approachable pretentious text”

Image result for pulitzer

Image result for the road

The Road by Cormac McCarthy

( Winner of 2007)

(Click here for book review…)

287 pages

Genre: Sci-fi, Dystopian, Apocalyptic

The premise of the book is very mysterious in the sense that the author doesn’t reveal the name of the place or the characters, we follow two of them a father and boy (nameless) as they navigate through a barren land on the aftermath of a disaster which almost wiped everything. The father decides that they have to go south on the beach for safety and we follow them, their thoughts, relationship and it is so quiet but a powerful one.

I talked about this book on (5 Short Books to Devour in one sitting) so I won’t touch a lot on it here but you should definitely read it so beautiful.

Image result for pulitzer

Image result for the shipping news book cover.

The Shipping News by Annie Proulx

(Winner 1994)

(Click here for book review…)

352 pages

Genre: Contemporary, Literary Fiction

The story follows the life of a young man by the name of Quoyle, after having literally one of the most miserable life from childhood all the way to his mid-thirties.After losing his ungrateful sorry-excuse-for-a-human-being wife to a tragic accident and both his parents, he decides to start a new life by going back to his family original home. We follow him to Newfoundland Coast in Canada, where we see how he tries to adjust life as a single father, finding himself, learning his heritage and just coping.

I didn’t absolutely love this one but Her writing was exceptional, The way she describes the environment was A+ I have read Brokeback Mountain and really enjoyed it so she definitely one I will continue reading from.

Image result for pulitzer

Those are the few titles I have read and the next batch are the ones I want to get to in the coming future (Ones that I’m interested in)

Image result for Gilead by Marilynne Robinson

Gilead by Marilynne Robinson

(Winner of 2005)

(Click here for more…)

247 pages

Genre: Historical fiction, Contemporary

Twenty-four years after her first novel, Housekeeping, Marilynne Robinson returns with an intimate tale of three generations from the Civil War to the twentieth century: a story about fathers and sons and the spiritual battles that still rage at America’s heart. Writing in the tradition of Emily Dickinson and Walt Whitman, Marilynne Robinson’s beautiful, spare, and spiritual prose allows “even the faithless reader to feel the possibility of transcendent order” (Slate). In the luminous and unforgettable voice of Congregationalist minister John Ames, Gilead reveals the human condition and the often unbearable beauty of an ordinary life.
I own a physical copy and its one that seems contemplative and character focused.

Image result for pulitzer

Image result for Breathing Lessons by Anne Tyler

Breathing Lessons by Anne Tyler

(Winner of 1989)

(Click here for more…)

324 pages

Genre: Contemporary

Breathing Lessons is the wonderfully moving and surprising story of Ira and Maggie Moran. She’s impetuous, harum-scarum, easygoing; he’s competent, patient, seemingly infallible. They’ve been married for 28 years. Now, as they drive from their home in Baltimore to the funeral of Maggie’s best friend’s husband

A physical copy I own and I love Anne Tyler so this will definitely happen she has the ability to capture complex relationships and so far she hasn’t disappointed me. ( Review of A Spool of Thread) Looking forward to this obviously

Image result for pulitzer

Books I don’t own but will buy

Related image

(links below click title)

finished

The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead Pulitzer Prize for Fiction (2017),

The Sympathizer by Viet Thanh Nguyen Pulitzer Prize for Fiction (2016)

All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr Pulitzer Prize for Fiction (2015)

A Visit from the Goon Squad by Jennifer Egan Pulitzer Prize for Fiction (2011)

The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Díaz Pulitzer Prize for Fiction (2008)

A Good Scent from a Strange Mountain by Robert Olen Butler Pulitzer Prize for Fiction (1993)

Beloved by Toni Morrison Pulitzer Prize for Fiction (1988

The Color Purple by Alice Walker Pulitzer Prize for Fiction (1983)

Here is the complete list ( Pulitzer Prize for Fiction Complete List)

if you see any that you’ve read and think I should check out please tell me. If you’ve read any of these tell me your opinion on them 😊

 So until next time stay Bookish 😉

      cropped-stack

GOODREADS

goodreads

TWITTER 

twitter-square-logo

INSTAGRAM 

insta

Advertisements

11 thoughts on “My Pulitzer Prize for Fiction Recommendation & Reading Project

  1. I can’t help but adore your reading taste. This seems to have been a well thought out TBR, if there ever was one. I was already interested in reading many of the books you mentioned, especially The Goldfinch, All The Light We Cannot See, and Middlesex. And now you’ve just added to the many books on my list.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for saying that 😅 I am always looking for quality literature and this prize seems to have that 👌 I really do hope I accomplish it because all the books do sound amazing 🙌 I highly recommend The Goldfinch and Middlesex they are one of the most impactful books ever

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I absolutely love The Goldfinch, it’s my favourite book of all time 😃 I really want to read Middlesex, The Color Purple, and Beloved as well.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The Goldfinch was exceptional 👏 It’s also one of my favourite books ever and I also love Middlesex you should definitely give it a try 🙌 I too hope to get to those as well they sound so interesting and important

      Like

      1. I actually read The Secret History first and that was my favourite book for a long time – until I read The Goldfinch, which replaced it quite quickly 😃

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s