Horns by Joe Hill book review ( I freaking Loved It)

“The best way to get even with anyone is to put them in the rear-view mirror on your way to something better.”

 

Goodreads Synopsis

Average Star Rating: 3.91 Stars

My Star Rating: 5/5 stars ( I loved it)

This book rapidly broke into one of the best books I have ever read. In my small reading life, I have never come across a book that has such a bizarre concept with its own unique premise and an amazing story line that just leaves you…

 

“I guess Satan was the first superhero […] In his first adventure, he took the form of a snake to free two prisoners being held naked in a Third World jungle prison by an all-powerful megalomaniac. At the same time, he broadened their diet and introduced them to their own sexuality.”

This book was made extra cool by the fact that it was my first buddy read with Liz, Ron & Paul and I had such a fun time discussing it. Seeing the others perspectives really added depth to the story and made the book that much greater. Thanks guys and I really can’t wait for future reads.

You Guys Rock!!!

“It bewildered Ig, the idea that a person could not be interested in music. It was like not being interested in happiness.”

The book broke bounds in storytelling, it was like putting a puzzle together or being shoved into a new world and you have to navigate through it yourself, it wasn’t hard to get into the story because Joe Hill’s writing has this dark humor to it. Literally the first page we meet Ignatius Martin Perrish (IG) who woke up with horns(Hence the title) .He can apparently see into peoples inner dark secrets, people treat him like a priest in a confession box and so many fucked up things that came with the horns. His life was pretty fucked up before the horns came into play, from losing the love of his life to a heinous murder and him being the main suspect, basically the whole town hates him so you can imagine what the guy was going through…

“You think you know someone. But mostly you just know what you want to know.”

As I said before, Hill is talented and Stephen King must be so proud because he created such an amazing book with a concept that just blows my mind just think about it. Sometimes it read like a crime novel in which you were the detective and the need to find answers will have you flipping the pages, trying to piece the puzzle together. It also read like a horror novel not the kind of monsters under your bed but the kind where you question your own morality and seeing how messed up being a human being is… In all sense this was just a book that was on its own level and you can’t pinpoint it to a certain genre just like most of Stephen King’s work. You will have this weird feeling that you aren’t supposed to be enjoying what is happening to some people or the feeling of killing of some people and the author manged to put the reader into this grey area of “morality“, I loved it.

batman applause clapping joker heath ledger “When you think about it, most of the good ideas came along to make sin a whole lot easier.”

Themes and Symbolism shone throughout the book and they were funny, dark, twisted and thought provoking. He managed to incorporate and played around with the concept of religion and his use biblical references with a twist was pure genius..

For Example:

“He paused, twisting his goatee, considering the law in Deuteronomy that forbade clothes with mixed fibers. A problematic bit of Scripture. A matter that required thought. “Only the devil wants man to have a wide range of lightweight and comfortable styles to choose from,” he murmured at last, trying out a new proverb. “Although there may be no forgiveness for polyester. On this one matter, Satan and the Lord are in agreement.”

and Also…

“I see God now as an unimaginative writer of popular fictions, someone who builds stories around sadistic and graceless plots, narratives that exist only to express His terror of a woman’s power to choose who and how to love, to redefine love as she sees fit, not as God thinks it ought to be. The author is unworthy of His own characters.”

Really good stuff!!!!

It was witty and pushed the envelope a bit and I ate it like my favorite dessert. The characters in themselves were twisted and almost life like, you could see the growth of the main character as he slowly loses his gullibility and realizes that the world is pretty messed up. The side characters were fleshed out to the bone and done so well because we got to see their dark-side which made them essential to the story and I was so happy about that because most side characters are just cardboard cut outs.

yes the office good nod stanley

I went into this book with the intention of comparing father and son but I got out with a new favorite author, who can write a story like no one I have ever read. I am so happy that I decided to read this and I can’t wait to read his other works. What The Heck are you reading this for, get of your ass and read this god damn book!!!!

the hunger games catching fire katniss everdeen peeta peeta melark

P.S. This was one of the most quotable books I have ever read!!! I can’t wait to see the movie adaptation.

Thanks For Reading Guys and Happy Reading!!!
GOODREADS    TWITTER  INSTAGRAM   TUMBLR

6 thoughts on “Horns by Joe Hill book review ( I freaking Loved It)

  1. I’ve wanted to read this book for a while on the basis of the film, but now that I’ve seen more of what it’s like, I’m DESPERATE to read it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment